Here Are Books On Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence Longlist

With still much time on our hands during days and nights at home, here’s some welcome news about how to pass the time. A total of 46 books (26 fiction, 20 nonfiction) has been selected for the longlist for the 2021 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. This list will whittle down to six for the shortlist on Nov. 17, 2020.

Then, the final two medal winners will be announced by 2021 selection committee chair Bill Kelly at the Reference and User Services Association’s Book and Media Awards (BMAs) event, which will take place online on Thursday, February 4, 2021, 3-4pm CST.

Click now to view the entire Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence Longlist

Some of the Top Fiction

  • Elliot Ackerman, Red Dress in Black and White
  • Ayad Akhtar, Homeland Elegies
  • Brit Bennett, The Vanishing Half
  • Marie-Helene Bertino, Parakeet
  • Louise Erdrich, The Night Watchman
  • Kelli Jo Ford, Crooked Hallelujah
  • Yaa Gyasi, Transcendent Kingdom
  • Julián Herbert, Bring Me the Head of Quentin Tarantino

Some of the top Non-fiction

  • Rutger Bregman, Humankind: A Hopeful History
  • Karla Cornejo Villavicencio, The Undocumented Americans
  • Barbara Demick, Eat the Buddha: Life and Death in a Tibetan Town
  • Rebecca Giggs, Fathoms: The World in the Whale
  • Michele Harper, The Beauty in Breaking
  • Miles Harvey, The King of Confidence: A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch
  • Cathy Park Hong, Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning
  • Jeffrey H. Jackson, Paper Bullets: Two Artists Who Risked Their Lives to Defy the Nazis
  • Robert Kolker, Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family
  • Laila Lalami, Conditional Citizens: On Belonging in America

About the Andrew Carnegie Medals

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, established in 2012, recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. in the previous year and serve as a guide to help adults select quality reading material. They are the first single-book awards for adult books given by the American Library Association and reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals who work closely with adult readers. The winners (one for fiction, one for nonfiction) are announced at an event at the ALA Midwinter Meeting; winning authors receive a $5,000 cash award.

A longlist comprised of no more than 50 titles is released in the fall. Six finalists, three fiction and three nonfiction, are announced in November.  The winners are announced at the RUSA Book and Media Awards Ceremony in February. All honored titles are nominated by the members of the selection committee. The awards do not accept submissions.